Friedman Award for Scholars in Health

The Friedman Award for Scholars in Health is named after Constance Livingstone-Friedman and Sydney Friedman, the first two faculty members in the UBC Faculty of Medicine. Drs. Constance and Sydney Friedman believed that a full well-rounded education requires students to learn from different perspectives and learn from different cultures. The goal of the Friedman Award is to provide funding to graduate students or medical residents so that they can pursue a learning opportunity to further their career or to bring new perspectives to the education they have already received.

Awards of up to $50,000 each will be awarded for six or more months of study. The amount of the scholarship will be at the discretion of the adjudication committee up to the above stated limit.

This award is jointly overseen by the Faculty of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies and the Faculty of Medicine.

For more information on this award, and to apply, please visit: