Professional Development

The Faculty of Medicine Postdoctoral Professional Development Team has been organizing events for postdoctoral fellows since 2005.

The overall aim of this series is to provide professional development opportunities to postdoctoral fellows in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of British Columbia, to prepare them for careers in academic and non-academic positions.

Events

Professional development workshops and seminars are held throughout the year at the UBC Point Grey Campus, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute, St. Paul’s Hospital and Vancouver General Hospital. Past topics and events have included:

  • Career Day (annual event)
  • Taking Ownership of Your Postdoc
  • Getting Your First Faculty Position
  • Remaining in Academia: What’s In It For You?
  • Managing Your Research Budget
  • Writing a Successful Grant
  • Leadership & Management Skills
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Project Management

This team also organizes an annual Career Day, an event open to postdoctoral fellows as well as graduate students. This event showcases careers in science – from academia, to industry and business, to research support, government and communications.

Volunteer Opportunities

Postdoctoral fellows are an integral part of our team. Terms are one to two years, beginning in July. If you are interested in volunteering on the UBC Faculty of Medicine Postdoctoral Professional Development Team, contact one of the team members listed under Contacts.

Contacts

Lisa Ritland
Graduate and Postdoctoral Research Coordinator
lisa.ritland@ubc.ca

Tara Fernandez, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
tara.fernandez@ubc.ca

Jennifer Myers
Manager, Research Education
jmyers@cfri.ca

Meaghan Jones, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
mjones@cmmt.ubc.ca

Alice Mui, Ph.D.
VCHRI Trainee Program Advisor
alice.mui@ubc.ca

Kerri Abramson
Manager, Research Education & Internal Awards
kerri.abramson@vch.ca

Amber Hay
Research Education & Internal Awards Associate
amber.hay@vch.ca