Graduate Student Advisory Group


The Faculty of Medicine Graduate Student Advisory Group (formerly the Graduate Student Committee) is comprised of student representatives from each graduate program within the Faculty of Medicine and chaired by the Assistant Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Education. The purpose of the Graduate Student Advisory Group is to:

  1. Meet several times per year in order to discuss issues directly related to graduate students, as well as to develop graduate student focused initiatives;
  2. On occasion, serve as graduate student representatives on scholarship adjudication committees or other committees within the Faculty of Medicine;
  3. Oversee the Faculty of Medicine Graduate Student Initiative Fund;
  4. Oversee peer adjudication for Building the Future: Faculty of Medicine Research Trainee Day & Lecture Series.


Ex Officio:

  • Assistant Dean, Graduate & Postdoctoral Education (Chair)
  • Graduate & Postdoctoral Research Coordinator


  • Audiology and Speech Therapy – Vacant
  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology – Kathleen Kolehmainen
  • Cell and Developmental Biology – Zhengcheng (Leo) He
  • Experimental Medicine – Sara Vazirian
  • Genetic Counselling – Eugene Wong
  • Interdisciplinary Oncology – Cassia Warren
    MD/PhD Program – Adam Ramzy
  • Medical Genetics – Jessica Pilsworth
  • Neuroscience – Rand Mahmoud
  • Pathology and Laboratory Medicine – Sara Saberi
  • Pharmacology and Therapeutics – Timothy Fung
  • Physical Therapy – Amanda Serek
  • Occupational Sciences and Occupational Therapy – Megan DeLeon
  • Rehabilitation Sciences – Jennifer Ferris
  • Reproductive and Developmental Sciences – Lindsay Richter
  • School of Population and Public Health – Jessica Yu
  • Surgery – Vacant

Appointment Process & Term

Committee members are selected by their graduate program and typically serve for one year, with the ability to renew their position.


If you have any questions about the Faculty of Medicine Graduate Student Advisory Group, please contact the Graduate & Postdoctoral Research Coordinator at